The Love and Wrath of God

October 3, 2012

[God’s] wrath is not something that sits awkwardly next to his love. Nor is it something unrelated to his love. God is angry at evil because he loves….  That makes complete sense to me as a father: if I could twiddle my thumbs and yawn while my daughters suffered, it would prove I didn’t really love them; but precisely because I so love them I hate the thought of anything evil befalling them. How much more is it so with the Father of lights, in whom there is no darkness at all. Love cares, and that means it cannot be indifferent to evil….

The wrath of the triune God is exactly the opposite of a character blip or a nasty side in him. It is the proof of the sincerity of his love, that he truly cares.

(Michael Reeves, Delighting in the Trinity, 118, 120)

Leave a Reply

