Listening

May 28, 2010

An encouraging prayer from Pastor Scotty Smith about listening and James 1:19-20. Here’s an excerpt:

Jesus, I take my cue from you, because there’s no one who’s more quick to listen than you. I never have to snap my fingers to get your attention or to “reel” you back into focus. I never catch you looking away, as though you’re bored with me. I never have to repeat myself several times to make sure you heard what I really said. You never interrupt me. You never spin what I’m saying. You never “over-speak” when I’m trying to tell you something. There’s no one who listens so attentively, respectively and compassionately as you, Jesus.

Leave a Reply

