Finding Words for our Hearts

April 7, 2009

A few people have asked about the response song from last Sunday.  I thought it may be helpful to post the lyrics here to help us revisit the repentance (turning away from something and towards something else) God calls us to in light of the beautiful grace of the Gospel.  The song was written by Dave Noel, Steve Green and Phil Naish, and it appears on Steve Green’s recording, The Faithful.

I Repent

I regret the hours I have wasted
and the pleasures I have tasted that you were never in.

And I confess that though your love is in me
it doesn’t always win me when competing with my sin.

And I repent, making no excuses.
I repent, no one else to blame.
And I return to fall in love with Jesus –
I bow down on my knees and I repent.

I lament the idols I’ve accepted,
the commandments I’ve rejected to pursue my selfish end.

And I confess I need you to revive me,
put selfishness behind me and take up my cross again

And I repent, making no excuses.
I repent, no one else to blame.
And I return to fall in love with Jesus –
I bow down on my knees
and I return to fall in love with Jesus.
I bow down on my knees and I repent.

Truly, one of the best ways that music serves the church is to put skillfully chosen words into our mouths to reflect (or affect) our hearts.  I feel the same way about reading the prayers of the saints in collections like Valley of Vision.  In the written words of others, we find expressions that resonate with or broaden our vocabulary of worship.  At other times, we find expression when our words fail us due to grief or disappointment. The writings of other believers are a gift for those of us with limited words and a stammering tongue.

