The Greater Fall

September 16, 2008

By now, you’ve probably heard that Christian songwriter Ray Boltz has publically come out as gay and is living “the normal gay life.”  This news comes after the 2005 separation from his wife finalized last year.  For some, Ray Boltz won’t ring a bell.  For me, this disclosure stung.  I listened to Ray’s music for a long time, though it has been years since I’ve bought his records.  I’ve sung his songs, like Watch the Lamb, Thank You, and I Pledge Allegiance to the Lamb.  As a youth, I imitated his singing and hoped to emulate his lyrics.  To me, Ray’s announcement really does feel like a fall.  

Tim Challies (always insightful) encouraged me to look beyond Ray’s admission of homosexuality to his bigger struggle.  It was helpful because it made me recognize the potential for the same “greater sin” in our hearts as well.  Boltz embraces his homosexuality as good, and he chooses to evaluate himself apart from God’s perspective.  He chooses to call “good” what God has called “sin.”  His greater sin is an “I”-centered worldview, a perspective that allows us to “acknowledge as truth only what I want to believe about myself” rather than what God says about me.  Tim concludes:

The lesson to me in all of this is the importance—the life and death importance—of seeing the world not through my eyes but through God’s. God has given us the Bible which allows us, like a pair of glasses that somehow illumines blind eyes, to see the world as He sees it. Through the Bible I find that I am not good but am instead utterly depraved. Incredibly and humiliatingly, I find that I have no ability to properly see and understand reality without Him. I find my desperate dependence upon Him to comprehend what may seem so plain and so obvious. I find that I need Him to interpret reality for me because, without Him, I’ll get it wrong every time. I need God to teach me to see myself.

Take 5 minutes to read Tim’s article, and then think about ways we do the same thing in our own lives.  And pray for Ray, the Boltz family, and Concord, that we all may seek God’s assessment of who we are.  Then rejoice, for we have a great savior in Jesus Christ!

