Rise In The Gospel

July 15, 2008

Have you ever been overwhelmed by the misery of failure when you sin against Jesus? When you sin, to whom or what do you look for comfort? It may be another vice. It may be the legalism of peformance (doing better the next time). It may be the shadow of liberalism where we cover ourselves with a faulty notion of freedom in Jesus rooted in our human weakness rather than the power of the Spirit. We all look toward something. We should look to the Gospel.

Rejoice not over me, O my enemy; when I fall, I rise; when I sit in darkness, the LORD shall be a light to me. I bear the indignation of the LORD because I have sinned against him until he pleads my cause and executes judgement for me. He will bring me out to the light; I shall look upon his vindication. (Micah 7:8-9)

When we stare in the face of our guilt in the Gospel of Jesus, when we rise in faith after we fall, we are able to say, “The very one who is indignant with me – the very God whom I have offended – is, through His Son Jesus, my righteousness and advocate (1John 2:1-2). He has forgiven me all my trespasses. He has canceled the debt of wrath that I have incurred. He has set it aside, nailing it to the cross. He has disarmed the rulers and authorities – the very ones I gave in to in my moment of sin – and has shamed them in triumph (Col 2:14-15)! They have no binding authority over me. He did this for ME, an unworthy servant! He did this for me!”

