start-stop-more-less

June 19, 2008

Before Father’s Day is a distant memory (am I already too late?), I want to relay one of the most helpful conversations a man could have with his wife and children: the start-stop-more-less conversation. 

Men, tell your wife and kids that you value their opinion and that you will weigh their answers carefully.  Then ask them the following: 

  1. What do I do that you really want me to stop?
  2. What don’t I do that you really want me to start?
  3. What do I do that you wish I did more of?
  4. What do I do that you wish I did less of?

These questions could be just as beneficial for women to ask their husbands and children, but I thought it would be good to challenge men like me who often are clueless about how they are coming across to their families. 

I’m thankful for Robert Johnson, a very wise pastor, who recently shared this conversation idea with me and several other pastors.

