Giveaway for Poets

March 14, 2008

Upon returning from North Carolina, I was delighted to find Andrew Peterson’s new book in my mailbox.  It’s a fantasy full of humor, suspense, and toothy cows.  Fearsome toothy cows.  I’m reading it this weekend, and I look forward to letting you know what I think next week. (I’m already laughing out loud at parts of it.)

Anyway, I actually received two copies – one to give away.  I noticed Andy has maintained the tradition of writers such as Tolkien and Lewis by including song and poem fragments into the fabric of the story.   In this spirit, here’s how one person will win a free book at the first of the week: write a four or eight line poem about your need to read a good book, your love of adventure or lack thereof, or something else convincing.  Then, email the poem to me.  The winner (determined by a squadron of trolls on the basis of humor, creativity, or a coin toss) will get a free copy of Andrew Peterson’s On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness: Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. and the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree.

