Holding Fast

February 21, 2008

How can the Christian suffer with faith?  Part of the answer is to hold fast to the truth.  By truth, I mean God’s truth as revealed in Scripture.  By hold fast, I mean like a dog locking down its jaws on the toy you’re trying to pull out of its mouth. 

In the latest newsletter, I listed several key truths that can help you hold fast with faith during suffering.  Here is a more expansive list of truths.  Christian, open your Bible, sink your teeth into these truths, and don’t let go for anything.

  • “This pain enables me to identify more closely with my Savior” (Isaiah 53:3-4).
  • “This pain is meant to draw me close to God in prayer”        (James 5:13).
  • “This pain can refocus my attention on God’s word”              (Psalm 119:67).
  • “This pain is meant to free me from self-reliance and to deepen my faith in God, who raises the dead” (2 Corinthians 1:9).
  • “This pain can teach me the sufficiency of God’s grace and power” (2 Corinthians 12:8-9).
  • “This pain is a cause for rejoicing, because it sets me on a trajectory of hope” (Romans 5:3-5).
  • “This pain is a cause for rejoicing, because it sets me on a trajectory of maturity” (James 1:2-4).
  • “This pain can bear the peaceful fruit of righteousness in my life” (Hebrews 12:11).
  • “This pain will enable me to comfort others more effectively”        (2 Corinthians 1:3-4).
  • “This pain can make me an attractive advertisement for the gospel” (Colossians 1:24).
  • “This pain will be as nothing compared to the future glory I will enjoy” (Romans 8:18).
  • “This pain is in some way expanding my capacity to experience future glory” (2 Corinthians 4:17-18).
  • “This pain should increase my longing for the new heavens and new earth” (Revelation 21:4).
