Prayer About Jesus as our Mediator

February 12, 2008

Here is a prayer to help guide you as you think about the cross this week from The Valley of Vision.

“Everlasting Creator – Father, I have destroyed myself, my nature is defiled, the powers of my soul are degraded; I a vile, miserable, strengthless, but my hope is in You. If ever I am saved it will only be by goodness undeserved and astonishing, not by mercy alone but by adundant mercy, not by grace but by exceeding riches of grace; And such you have revealed, promised, exemplified in thoughts of peace, not evil.

You have devised means to rescue me from sin’s perdition, to restore me to happiness, honor, safety. I bless You for the everlasting covenant, for the appointment of a mediator. I rejoice that he did not fail, nor was discouraged, but accomplished the work You gave him to do; and said on the cross, ‘It is finished.’

I exult in the thought that Your justice is satisfied, Your truth established, Your law magnified, and a foundation is laid for my hope. I look to a present and personal interest in Christ Jesus and say, ‘Surely he has borne my griefs, carried my sorrows, won my peace, healed my soul.’

Justified by his blood I am saved by his life, glorying in his cross I bow to his scepter, having his Spirit I possess his mind.

Lord, grant that my religion may not be occasional and partial, but universal, influential, effective, and may I always continue in Your words as well as Your works, so that I may reach my end in peace. Amen.”

