BP Press Release

February 11, 2008

CHATTANOOGA – A startling event occured in a recent evening service at Concord Baptist Church of Chattanooga, TN.  The service concluded a few minutes early.  “It was so weird,” remarked Candace Hendon, “I was just settling in when, all of a sudden, we were singing the closing song!”  The evening service, mysteriously called Connection, typically concludes ten, fifteen, and sometimes twenty minutes late due to the dynamic teaching ministries of senior pastor David King and youth pastor Aaron Martin.  The senior adults who attend Connection had mixed emotions about the early dismissal.  Minnie Jo Baskette, a well-loved older member, said, “I’m glad to get out of here on time for a change, but I’m not sure the boys earned their paycheck tonight.”  When asked if dismissing early was going to become a regular occurence, Pastor David expressed doubt and urged the congregation not to get their hopes up.  “Tonight, however, was different,” he rejoiced. “I was able to stay within my twenty-minute window and still deliver a life-changing message.  I would like to thank everyone who prayed for me so that this dream could become a reality.”  Randy Smith, a deacon in the church and faithful member, suggested that the night of early dismissal will long be remembered.  “I think the guys should blog about it,” he added.     

