When Your World Falls Apart, You Don’t Have To

November 9, 2011

Mark Richt is the head coach of the Georgia Bulldogs.  The reason this Tennessee boy loves him isn’t hard to figure out.  In yesterday’s press conference, Richt answered a  question about how he handled the now-waning criticism he has received over the last couple of seasons:

I know you never know what tomorrow is going to bring, so it’s not like we’ve arrived or anything like that.  But we have played well lately, and we’ve won lately, so that’s a big deal.  Quite frankly, I love the game of football.  I love my job.  I love Georgia.  But what I do is not who I am.  I’ve said that before.  I think sometimes if we become what we do, and then things aren’t going just right, then all of a sudden our entire world falls apart.  I’ve got a faith in my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, and I know that God loves me and is going to take care of me.  I just truly believe that.  When all the games are done and all the life is lived, I know where I’ll be for eternity.  Not to say I don’t care about what happens in this world, because that’s not true.  Colossians 3:23 says, “Whatever you do, do your work heartily as unto the Lord,” so that’s what I was doing on a daily basis.  I was doing my job as best I could and trying to do it for his glory, and try not to worry about anything else.  That’s kind of how I navigated that time, and there will be more tough times I’m sure.  That’s the way life is.

Is Richt saying that nothing is more important than trusting Jesus for eternal life?  That our justification isn’t found in being successful?  That we should work hard as unto the Lord and leave the results to him?  That’s exactly what he’s saying.  And it’s enough to make me say, “Go, Dawgs!”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

